What Types of Vehicle Accidents Should Be Reported in New York State?
Depending on the severity of your vehicle accident, you may not be required to report it in New York. But that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t. Victims should always report a collision to the necessary agencies regardless of how severe an accident initially appears.
After an accident resulting in death, injury, or over $1,000 in property damage, victims must report their collision to New York police officers. That said, it’s a good idea to report any accident, even if you don’t appear injured or cannot estimate the damage to your vehicle. In addition to reporting to the police, victims may also have to report an accident to the New York Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and their insurance. Instead of worrying about properly reporting your accident, hire an experienced Brighton car accident lawyer who can help you meet each reporting requirement.
We’re here to help vehicle accident victims throughout the state recover the compensation they deserve. For a free case evaluation with the New York car accident lawyers at The Carrion Law Firm, call today at (718) 841-0083.
When Do You Have to Report a Vehicle Accident in New York State?
In New York, only certain vehicle accidents must be reported to the police. For example, an accident must be reported if it results in injuries or death. Car accidents resulting in serious property damage must also be reported to the police in New York.
If you are injured in any way after a vehicle accident in New York, you have to call the police. New York requires victims to notify police officers of any injuries and their cause within ten days of a crash. That said, reporting your accident to the police right away is crucial. Remember, this is important, regardless of how severe your injuries are. Even if you only feel minor pain and cannot notice any serious injuries, call the police and report your accident to New York law enforcement officials right away.
Car accidents can be extremely dangerous, sometimes resulting in the death of a victim. Reporting is required in New York whenever an accident results in a victim’s death or injury. When injuries are serious, it is important to notify law enforcement officials immediately and not wait to report an accident.
In New York, vehicle accidents resulting in upwards of $1,000 worth of property damage must be reported to the police. That means that if you are in a car accident and sustained no injuries, you may have to notify law enforcement officials in New York if your vehicle gets damaged.
Should I Report Any Type of Vehicle Accident in New York State?
Although New York state only mandates that certain types of car accidents be reported to the police, that doesn’t mean you’re barred from reporting other incidents. In fact, you should always call law enforcement officials after a collision involving any type of vehicle.
Regardless of the circumstances of your accident, call the police. It doesn’t matter if your accident involved a truck, a passenger car, or a bus. It also doesn’t matter if you don’t appear injured at first or cannot estimate the damage done to your vehicle. Always, always call the police.
Our Queens car accident lawyers know how important taking this step truly is. When officers arrive at the accident scene, they will complete a crash report. This document can be helpful to you in the future if you should notice injuries following a crash and choose to sue a negligent driver. A police report can help you recover compensation for property damage or medical bills following a crash.
All too often, New York victims don’t understand the full extent of their injuries or the severity of damage to their property until the days or weeks after a crash. Car accidents can be extremely traumatic, and it can take time for reality to set in. If you did not report your accident because you didn’t think your crash called for involvement from law enforcement, you might have more difficulty recovering damages. So, always report your injuries to New York police officers.
What Agencies Should You Contact When Reporting a Vehicle Accident in New York State?
The first important agency to notify after a vehicle accident in New York is your local police department. However, that’s not the only agency that needs to know about your injuries. After you’ve reported your vehicle accident to the police, you will also need to inform other parties. Your Long Island car accident lawyer can help you through this process so that you don’t miss any steps along the way.
Clearly, reporting your injuries to the police is important after an accident in New York. You may also need to report it to the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles. Drivers in New York have ten days from an accident that resulted in injury, death, or over $1,000 in property damage to file a report with the DMV. New York car accident victims can get fined if they don’t report an accident to the DMV.
You should also report your injuries to your insurance. New York is a no-fault state for car accidents, meaning victims often turn to their own personal injury protection insurance to compensate them after a crash. That said, insurance companies are notorious for underpaying victims, especially when they are late to report their injuries.
So, it’s important to report your car accident to your insurance, and potentially a negligent driver’s liability insurance, in the days after a crash. Your Buffalo car accident lawyer can help you inform the necessary parties within the right timeframes so that your chances of recovering compensatory damages in a lawsuit aren’t reduced.
Call Our New York Lawyers After Your Vehicle Accident
If you’ve recently been injured in a vehicle accident in New York, our White Plains truck accident lawyers can help. For a free case evaluation with the Brooklyn car accident lawyers at The Carrion Law Firm, call today at (718) 841-0083.