How Long Do You Have to Report a Car Accident Injury in New York State?
Knowing when to report your car accident injuries is crucial. If you miss important deadlines or fail to inform the necessary parties of your injuries, you may have more difficulty recovering damages in New York.
Immediately after a car accident in New York, report your injuries to the police. Calling law enforcement officials is important, even if you think your collision isn’t serious. Next, victims must report their injuries to their insurance company. Generally, you have to do this within 30 days of a crash. Finally, if you want to recover damages through a lawsuit, you must file a claim within three years of a car accident. Instead of worrying about properly reporting your injuries, seek help from an experienced Corona, Queens car accident lawyer who can guide you through the process and ensure you cover all your bases.
Our team is here to fight for your right to compensation after a car accident in New York. For a free case evaluation with the New York car accident lawyers at The Carrion Law Firm, call today at (718) 841-0083.
How Long Do I Have to Report a Car Accident to the Police in New York State?
Depending on the severity of your car accident, you may have more or less time to report it to the police in New York. Generally, serious collisions must be reported right away, while minor ones can be reported at a victim’s discretion. That said, no matter how severe an accident initially appears, you should always report it to New York police officers immediately.
Suppose you were recently involved in a car accident that resulted in injury, death, or $1,000 worth of property damage. In that case, you are required to report it to New York law enforcement officials immediately. That means your first call should be to 911. When police officers arrive, they will complete a crash report. This report will contain vital details concerning your accident, like eyewitness statements and potential causes. While an officer is completing a police report, victims should disclose any injuries. Even injuries that appear insignificant, like stiffness or soreness, are important to mention. It is crucial that your injuries and their cause are documented in a police report immediately after a collision.
Suppose your accident doesn’t meet the above criteria. In that case, the law doesn’t require you to call the police. That said, it is still a smart idea to alert law enforcement officials. Just because you don’t have to doesn’t mean you shouldn’t.
If you initially don’t report your car accident to the police, you can do so in the coming days. Alongside an Albany car accident lawyer, victims can visit their local police station to report a collision.
When Do I Have to Report My Car Accident Injuries to My Insurance in New York State?
New York is a no-fault statute for car accidents, meaning victims often turn to their own personal injury protection insurance in the event of a collision. Because of that, it is crucial that victims report their injuries within the necessary timeframe. If they don’t, New York car accident victims may have difficulties recovering damages
In New York, car accident victims generally have 30 days to report their injuries to their insurance company. While a month may seem like a long time, it is sure to fly by, especially when reeling from the aftermath of a traumatic car accident. If you don’t report your injuries to your insurance within 30 days, you will lose access to one potential path to compensation.
In addition to reporting to your personal insurance, there is also the matter of notifying a negligent driver’s liability insurance. This can be complicated and overwhelming, especially since insurance adjusters may attempt to confuse you so that they can avoid paying an adequate settlement. To ensure that you report your injuries to the necessary insurance companies within an appropriate timeframe, you should hire a Binghamton car accident lawyer. Your attorney can handle all the paperwork and reporting requirements so that you can focus on healing after a devastating car accident.
How Long Do I Have to File a Car Accident Lawsuit in New York State?
New York car accidents can be extremely damaging to victims. Often, victims require expensive medical treatment. They may be unable to work and begin feeling the effects of a loss of income. In addition, the mental and emotional impact such traumas can have can be debilitating. If you require substantial compensation after a car accident, filing a lawsuit can help you recover what you deserve. However, it’s important that you know how long exactly you will have to sue.
Car accident victims have three years from injury to file a lawsuit in New York. Initially, three years may seem like a long time. However, there is a lengthy process of investigating and uncovering evidence before you can file a claim. Hiring a Utica car accident lawyer immediately after a collision is wise. Your Flushing car accident lawyer can begin to build a case against a negligent driver right away.
The faster you begin the litigation process, the sooner you can recover damages. Victims who sustain serious injuries in New York car accidents often need immediate access to compensation. If you hire an attorney right away, instead of waiting a year or two to do so, you can gain access to the damages you need more quickly.
Finally, although you have three years to file a car accident lawsuit in New York, waiting to do so isn’t wise. The longer you delay filing a lawsuit, the more difficult it can be to connect your injuries to a negligent driver’s actions. Therefore, acting quickly and hiring an attorney as soon as possible is important. That way, you will have a better chance of recovering the damages you deserve in a lawsuit against a negligent driver.
Call Our New York Lawyers if You’ve Been Injured in a Car Accident Today
If you’ve recently been injured in a New York car accident, reach out to our attorneys right away. For a free case evaluation with the Buffalo car accident lawyers at The Carrion Law Firm, call today at (718) 841-0083.